Book Festival Opens Today !… 12th-28th August

So, the Book Festival is finally opening, and we are being treated to a few weeks of the lovely, calm space that the Book Festival offers amidst the hustle and bustle of the fringe festival ! We love exploring the children’s bookshop and then seeing what arts and crafts and activities are going on in the story box space.

This weekend , alongside some great author events you may be attending, the Baillie Gifford Story Box will be hosting these fantastic and free drop in workshops:

Design a Pop-up MuseumSaturday 12th August 11am – 4.30pm Design A Pop-Up Museum

Come along and join V&A Dundee and be inspired by their giant pop-up museum in a book. Then work with a designer to create your own mini museum to take away.

Scottish Chamber Orchestra's Instrument ArmourySunday 13th August   11am – 4.30pm  Scottish Chamber Orchestra’s Instrument Armoury

Have you ever seen musicians on stage and wondered what it would be like to play a musical instrument? Now’s your chance to give it a shot with talented performers from the Scottish Chamber Orchestra. Tune up on a cello, flutter on the flute or toot a trumpet to see which is your favourite.

Advertisements

Edinburgh International Book Festival Opens Tomorrow 13th August

Woohoo ! It feels like it’s been a loooooooooong wait, but the Edinburgh Book Festival opens tomorrow and I for one, am very very excited ! Bring on some lounging on deck chairs in the sunshine in Charlotte Square Gardens and some lazy browsing of the beautiful books inside the Children’s Bookshop !

For the opening weekend Saturday 13th and Sunday 14th August there will be some free Get Stuck into Science activities in the story box  11.00am – 4.30pm.

Sing-Along with Nick CopeIf you haven’t managed to see the fantastic Nick Cope yet, he is doing two shows at the Book Festival on the 17th August, at 10.30 and again at 2.00pm – it looks like both events still have tickets available – so grab them while you can !

 

On Friday 19th August there will be a Beatrix Potter birthday party in the story box with free drop in activities to mark the 150th anniversary of Beatrix Potter’s birth. Celebrate with all your favourite characters…

On Tuesday 23rd August, they will be celebrating Paddington Bear’s birthday – its 60 years since Michael Bond first came up with his idea for everyone’s favourite bear from Peru…

 

 

Edinburgh International Book Festival 13-29th August

If you have read this blog before you will know I’m a huge fan of the Edinburgh book festival, so I was most delighted when the rather lovely and jam packed book festival programme fell onto my doorstep a few days ago…

It looks like another great year and the children’s events look as fantastic as always….

Some highlights from the programme include:

Julia Donaldson & FriendsJulia Donaldson and friends – Julia Donaldson is just super duper fantastic, if you love her books, then you will love any of her shows. She brings her family and friends, she sings and engages all ages in her interactive retelling of some of her favourite tales…On three dates- Sat 13th, Sun 14th and Sun 28th August

On Saturday and Sunday 13th and 14th August, the opening weekend, there will be free drop-in activities in the story box all around the theme of ‘get stuck into science‘ which looks fun….

Jacqueline Wilson – talking about her latest tale Rent a Bridesmaid (14th August)

 

 

Picturing Harry Potter – Illustrator Jim Kay brings his breathtaking full-colour edition of this well loved wizarding story. (Monday 15th)

Guinness World Records – This looks fun – taking a look at some wacky feats from over the years.( Tuesday 16th)

Sing-Along with Nick CopeSing-Along with Nick Cope – If you’ve not seen him before, please don’t miss out (he’s also got a family show at the fringe too) – fantastic, acoustic folk songs for kids…(Wednesday 17th August)

 

Tea, Cake and Colouring-in– looks lovely, with the colouring book of Scotland (Wednesday 17th August)

On Friday 19th August there will be a Beatrix Potter birthday party in the story box with free drop in activities to mark the 150th anniversary of Beatrix Potter’s birth. Celebrate with all your favourite characters…

You're a Bad Man, Mr Gum!

For fans of Mr Gum, Andy Stanton will be at the book festival on Friday 19th August with his first book of the series – You’re a Bad Man, Mr Gum

 

Nick Sharratt – will be at the festival on Saturday 20th with some nonsense poetry….

On Tuesday 23rd August, they will be celebrating Paddington Bear’s birthday – its 60 years since Michael Bond first came up with his idea for everyone’s favourite bear from Peru…

 

Chris Riddell – Meet the Children’s laureate – Chris’ illustrations are exceptional, this is ure to be a great event and interactive too…(Sunday 28th August)

Pirate Adventures with Jonny Duddle – yet another pirate adventure with Matilda, Jim Ladand the Jolley-Rogers…(Sunday 28th August)

 

 

 

And that list hardly touches it to be honest, every year the programme gets better and better and all of the activities in the story box look great too…its a fantastic venue to take the kids to, even if you are not going for an event, the children’s bookshop is immense and you can spend a very long time browsing all of the wonderful books on offer, you can enjoy lunch in the gardens on the deckchairs and take part in the daily free activities in the story box.

Tickets go on sale on Tuesday 21st June at 8.30am – grab them while you can !!

 

 

 

Highlights from week two…

It’s been another busy week at the festival…… I have managed to squeeze in seeing a few shows, some Book Festival visiting, a tiny bit of time at the BBC tent and only one ice-cream this week between school drop offs and pick ups !

I have been happy to see an increase in sunshine over the past few days and I am looking forward to enjoying it this weekend with some friends visiting from London (I am also looking forward to seeing a few ‘adult’ shows in this year’s fringe too) !

Some of my highlights from the second week have included :

  • The Piper – You can read my full review over on the reviews page here. This show provides a unique opportunity for children to become part of the cast and be onstage. Lovely visuals and design…
  • Albee vector the Sound Collector – As I mentioned in my post about the weekend, this is a superb show all about sound, and takes you on a fantastic journey with Albee and Andromeda and the sound hoover Mustard. Really, really, fun and imaginative show with lots of surprises !
  • Brush – Returning to the fringe, this is a lovely, gentle show for children ….paintings are created live on stage and brought to life right before your eyes. This Korean show includes music, puppets and a cast of very energetic performers who make it a total delight to watch….

And of course I have LOVED being at the Book Festival which opened last weekend….the children’s bookshop is a lovely, colourful place to hang out and get cosy to explore the fantastic range of books on offer and the Storybox with free arts and crafts activities is fab too….

It looks like as week three approaches, there is an awful lot going on with the festival, the Mela, the big beach busk and the end of festival fireworks all taking place – but I will be posting more about all of that later ….for now, I’m going to go and have a little rest !

Book festival opening tomorrow….Saturday 15th August !

Image result for edinburgh book festivalThe Book festival opens tomorrow, the 15th August, and I am very excited – I LOVE this festival and I also love it as a venue to spend time with the kids – the children’s bookshop is a fantastic place to while away some time and they always have plenty of cosy nooks and crannies to settle down to explore some of the fantastic books on offer.

The festival also has the ‘story box’ which is a dedicated arts and crafts space for kids which is packed daily with new activities drawing on themes from the events held that day. There is often face painting and storytelling too, and it’s all FREE ! This means you can come and spend a few hours at the Book festival even if you don’t have tickets for any of the events.

The opening weekend is playing host to two days of extra special fun in the story box:

Animal AnticsSaturday 15th August from 1-4pm  – Animal Antics – They’ve got lots of animals in the programme; so drop-in to meet some more: two pygmy goats called Moonlight and Shadow. In association with Gorgie City Farm.

 

Happy Birthday MiffySunday 16th August from 2-4pmHappy Birthday Miffy – Believe it or not, Dick Bruna’s beloved picture book character Miffy is 60 this year. Join us to celebrate the little rabbit’s birthday. You might even get to meet her!