Book Festival 2019 Opens this weekend….

Image result for edinburgh international book festival 2019Festival season is in full swing, personally it feels likes it’s been going for weeks already – and yet another one opens this weekend – it is truly exhausting !!  The Edinburgh International Book Festival – bringing with it a host of fantastic events, free arts and crafts activities, two beautiful bookshops and a gorgeous space to hang out in Charlotte Square…it is also a very tranquil oasis away from the hecticness of the Fringe and I highly recommend it simply for the change of scenery and pace alone !!

There are lots of free arts and crafts activities every day in the fabulous Story Box area and the opening weekend has the following brilliant sounding drop-in events :

50 Years of The Very Hungry Caterpillar50 Years of the Very Hungry Caterpillar Both Saturday 10th and Sunday 11th August 11.00am – 4.30pm  Feeling peckish? Celebrate 50 years of Eric Carle’s classic picture book, The Very Hungry Caterpillar, by dropping into Story Box for lots of exciting colouring and craft activities inspired by the much-loved tale. You might even get the chance to meet the greedy insect himself.

Join the Super Power AgencyJoin The Super Power AgencyBoth Saturday 10th and Sunday 11th August 11.00am – 4.30pm : Super Power Agency Bus On George Street.  Hop aboard the Super Power Agency Bus and become a literacy superhero! Special agents show you how to take a book out of your head and onto the page, where it can change the world, with fun bookmaking and storytelling activities.

Full listings of all the free events for children and young people can be found here ….enjoy!

 

Book Festival Opening This Saturday – 11th August

Image result for edinburgh book festival 2018Festival season is in full swing, and yet another one opens this weekend – The Edinburgh International Book Festival – bringing with it a host of fantastic events, free arts and crafts activities, two beautiful bookshops and a gorgeous space to hang out in Charlotte Square…

There are lots of free arts and crafts activities every day in the fabulous Story Box area and the opening weekend has the following brilliant sounding drop-in events :

Sensational Science with Edinburgh International Science FestivalSaturday 11th AugustSensational Science With Edinburgh International Science Festival – Drop into Story Box to experience mind-boggling experiments and dazzling demonstrations from a team of spectacular science communicators. The Edinburgh International Science Festival takes learning beyond the classroom to an exciting new level where anything is possible and everything is fun. Come along to witness explosions and expect plenty of mess from their Street Science team.  11 – 16.30 Story Box

Join the Super Power AgencySaturday 11th and Sunday 12th AugustJoin The Super Power Agency -Hop aboard the Super Power Agency Bus and become a literacy superhero! Special agents show you how to take a book out of your head and onto the page, where it can change the world, with fun bookmaking and storytelling activities. (11 – 16.30 On George Street)

Sunday 12th AugustThe Big Book Of Brilliant Ideas – Join theatre-maker Hazel Darwin-Clements to create a huge book filled with all of your amazing ideas. Big or small, all ideas are welcome! But this is not just a book – it’s whatever you want it to be: a spaceship, a den, or a puppet theatre perhaps. Drop in to transform enormous pages into exciting creations that will become one giant, unique, brilliant book. 1.30 – 16.30 Story Box

Full listings of all the free events for children and young people can be found here ….enjoy!

 

 

Book Festival Opens Today !… 12th-28th August

So, the Book Festival is finally opening, and we are being treated to a few weeks of the lovely, calm space that the Book Festival offers amidst the hustle and bustle of the fringe festival ! We love exploring the children’s bookshop and then seeing what arts and crafts and activities are going on in the story box space.

This weekend , alongside some great author events you may be attending, the Baillie Gifford Story Box will be hosting these fantastic and free drop in workshops:

Design a Pop-up MuseumSaturday 12th August 11am – 4.30pm Design A Pop-Up Museum

Come along and join V&A Dundee and be inspired by their giant pop-up museum in a book. Then work with a designer to create your own mini museum to take away.

Scottish Chamber Orchestra's Instrument ArmourySunday 13th August   11am – 4.30pm  Scottish Chamber Orchestra’s Instrument Armoury

Have you ever seen musicians on stage and wondered what it would be like to play a musical instrument? Now’s your chance to give it a shot with talented performers from the Scottish Chamber Orchestra. Tune up on a cello, flutter on the flute or toot a trumpet to see which is your favourite.

Edinburgh International Book Festival Opens Tomorrow 13th August

Woohoo ! It feels like it’s been a loooooooooong wait, but the Edinburgh Book Festival opens tomorrow and I for one, am very very excited ! Bring on some lounging on deck chairs in the sunshine in Charlotte Square Gardens and some lazy browsing of the beautiful books inside the Children’s Bookshop !

For the opening weekend Saturday 13th and Sunday 14th August there will be some free Get Stuck into Science activities in the story box  11.00am – 4.30pm.

Sing-Along with Nick CopeIf you haven’t managed to see the fantastic Nick Cope yet, he is doing two shows at the Book Festival on the 17th August, at 10.30 and again at 2.00pm – it looks like both events still have tickets available – so grab them while you can !

 

On Friday 19th August there will be a Beatrix Potter birthday party in the story box with free drop in activities to mark the 150th anniversary of Beatrix Potter’s birth. Celebrate with all your favourite characters…

On Tuesday 23rd August, they will be celebrating Paddington Bear’s birthday – its 60 years since Michael Bond first came up with his idea for everyone’s favourite bear from Peru…

 

 

Edinburgh International Book Festival 13-29th August

If you have read this blog before you will know I’m a huge fan of the Edinburgh book festival, so I was most delighted when the rather lovely and jam packed book festival programme fell onto my doorstep a few days ago…

It looks like another great year and the children’s events look as fantastic as always….

Some highlights from the programme include:

Julia Donaldson & FriendsJulia Donaldson and friends – Julia Donaldson is just super duper fantastic, if you love her books, then you will love any of her shows. She brings her family and friends, she sings and engages all ages in her interactive retelling of some of her favourite tales…On three dates- Sat 13th, Sun 14th and Sun 28th August

On Saturday and Sunday 13th and 14th August, the opening weekend, there will be free drop-in activities in the story box all around the theme of ‘get stuck into science‘ which looks fun….

Jacqueline Wilson – talking about her latest tale Rent a Bridesmaid (14th August)

 

 

Picturing Harry Potter – Illustrator Jim Kay brings his breathtaking full-colour edition of this well loved wizarding story. (Monday 15th)

Guinness World Records – This looks fun – taking a look at some wacky feats from over the years.( Tuesday 16th)

Sing-Along with Nick CopeSing-Along with Nick Cope – If you’ve not seen him before, please don’t miss out (he’s also got a family show at the fringe too) – fantastic, acoustic folk songs for kids…(Wednesday 17th August)

 

Tea, Cake and Colouring-in– looks lovely, with the colouring book of Scotland (Wednesday 17th August)

On Friday 19th August there will be a Beatrix Potter birthday party in the story box with free drop in activities to mark the 150th anniversary of Beatrix Potter’s birth. Celebrate with all your favourite characters…

You're a Bad Man, Mr Gum!

For fans of Mr Gum, Andy Stanton will be at the book festival on Friday 19th August with his first book of the series – You’re a Bad Man, Mr Gum

 

Nick Sharratt – will be at the festival on Saturday 20th with some nonsense poetry….

On Tuesday 23rd August, they will be celebrating Paddington Bear’s birthday – its 60 years since Michael Bond first came up with his idea for everyone’s favourite bear from Peru…

 

Chris Riddell – Meet the Children’s laureate – Chris’ illustrations are exceptional, this is ure to be a great event and interactive too…(Sunday 28th August)

Pirate Adventures with Jonny Duddle – yet another pirate adventure with Matilda, Jim Ladand the Jolley-Rogers…(Sunday 28th August)

 

 

 

And that list hardly touches it to be honest, every year the programme gets better and better and all of the activities in the story box look great too…its a fantastic venue to take the kids to, even if you are not going for an event, the children’s bookshop is immense and you can spend a very long time browsing all of the wonderful books on offer, you can enjoy lunch in the gardens on the deckchairs and take part in the daily free activities in the story box.

Tickets go on sale on Tuesday 21st June at 8.30am – grab them while you can !!